Hofstra University Honors College's Blog

Hidden Treasure

A couple weekends ago, a group of friends and I went into Boston for the day. We had lunch at Quincy Market, walked around looking at the building and a little park we found, and wandered through Newbury Comics. Everyone had a great time. My favorite part of the trip? The used bookstore we went into, Commonwealth Books.

Why did I love this store so much? Several reasons actually. One: books! Two: it was in the basement of a larger building which I thought was just a really cool set up. Three: books! Four: when we walked in it had that old book smell which I absolutely love. Five: books! Ok, I’ll stop doing that now. Six: the guy that was working there was really nice and helpful. He seemed really happy to see so many people coming in at once and said he could use more customers like me. Seven: books!

Ok, the last one I didn’t mean just books in general, but the kind of books that were in the store. There was a large variety of categories (fiction, non-fiction, children’s, mythology, fairy tales/folklore, religion, philosophy, psychology, cooking, crafts, language, etc. etc.) to choose from. The books were all reasonable priced and they were mostly really old volumes.

I love old books. I love the feel of them, the look of them, the smell of them, all of it. I love that the older a book is, the older its history is. I always wonder what an old book would say if it could tell its story. Where was it made, how many owners did it have, how has it’s story affected those owners. Browsing through the shelves I a book on greek mythology which is great. I also found a tiny brown book called “Be True” by Mrs. Maxwell. It’s pages are yellowed and stained. It’s binding is worn and you can see the print pressing through the other side of the page. It was printed in 1848. This is a book with a long history.

I love bookstores. Whether that be Barns and Nobel or little used bookstores, they’re all places that I could get lost in for hours. And every time I do, I find a new treasure to take home. Then I can get lost in my treasure for hours.

Leave a Reply

