Hofstra University Honors College's Blog

Reflection

From the hours of 2:30 PM Sunday the third to 3:30 PM Saturday the ninth, I did not use the internet. That’s 145 web-free hours. It was an interesting experience. The first two days were the most annoying, the hardest to kick the habit. Luckily, I was so busy on Wednesday  that I might not have even been able to get onto the computer even if it wasn’t Week Without the Web. After that, it got easier. Within the first twenty-four hours, I would have guessed that I would have jumped immediately onto my computer as soon as the week was over. Then on Saturday, I found myself not feeling any immediate need to get online. When I did finally log back on, instead of thinking “OMD I have to get on now!” like I thought I would, I was thinking “I guess I can check my email now.” And only because I was hanging out with  my boyfriend and there was a gap in our activities while he checked his email and log onto Netflix.

So, did I learn anything from Week Without the Web? I guess you could say that. I’ve learned that I need internet far less than I thought I did. Since WWW ended, my computer use has decreased significantly. Instead of constantly logging on to check email accounts I know are empty just because I’m a little bored, I’ve been catching up on my reading list and mastering card games. Also, I’ve learned that my internet priorities are a lot different than I had thought they were.

What did I miss most about the web? Google. I missed Google. A lot. I am endlessly curious and every day I would think of random and purposeful things that I would want to look up and couldn’t. Song lyrics, release dates, random trivia, names for characters, more trivia, etc. Forget email, forget Facebook, forget YouTube. What was the most annoying part of WWW was having a question and not being able to jump online, type in what I wanted to know, and be given a well of sources I could click through until I found my answer. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from going a week without the internet, it’s that Google is my favorite thing about the web.

Leave a Reply

